Green is Good

I have been spending a lot of time with these two items lately:

I am really working toward deepening my yoga practice and really improving my ability, so I have been practicing almost every day. I am already noticing that it is easier to hold some of the poses and I am definitely more familiar with the flow, which is a big help.

And, I had my first day of school last week! Maybe even what will be my last first day of school. Too soon to tell just yet on that though. I am starting a Master of Library and Information Science program, adding to my M.A. in musicology and my B.A. in music.  Lots of introductory and background reading thus far, but as history is my one true academic love, I don’t mind at all.

All of this on top of starting a new job next week, I am definitely feeling the need for maintaining a calm and relaxed frame of mind. I am also trying to take really, really good care of myself – eating lots of healthy food, getting plenty of sleep, and, of course, the yoga doesn’t hurt.

Today, though, I tried something new. I have read about Green Monsters on several of the blogs I read everyday. They have always looked super gross and totally unappetizing to me. I am not really a smoothie girl anyway, but the green tinge just really never did it for me.

Until today. Today I decided to just give it a go and when I was at Whole Foods I picked up a package of spinach. Reading about how much energy you get from adding these to your diet and all of the “side effects” like better hair, clearer skin, etc, really made me want to try it. For my recipe, I referred to Angela’s website for green monsters: Green Monster Movement. I used her recipe for a “virgin” green monster and added a tablespoon of peanut butter, per the recommendation of many others.

The verdict? It was really good! You can’t taste the spinach AT. ALL. And I would not lie about such a thing. I could not drink quite as much as the recipe made, but I think it’ll be easy to cut it down a little bit. I encourage you to try one, if you haven’t already. If I can like it, I think anyone can!

Peanut Butter Banana Green Monster (adapted from GreenMonsterMovement.com)

2 cups organic spinach
1 – 1 1/4 cups milk (any kind – cow, almond, soy, rice, etc – I used skim cow’s milk)
1 tbsp. flax
1 banana
1 tbsp. peanut butter
5-6 large ice cubes

Add the ingredients to the blender in this order: flax, spinach, banana, peanut butter, milk. (Angela says that the reason for this order is so that the heavy ingredients weigh down the flax and spinach so they don’t fly up in the blender and stick to the side.) Blend on high for 1 minute. Add the ice and blend on the ice cube setting. Pour and enjoy!

2 responses to “Green is Good

  1. You are brave! Did it really taste okay?

Leave a Reply

