Coconut Red Lentil Soup + A Publication

Guess what I got in the mail yesterday?!

My thesis finally came! It’s taken almost 5 months…I’d almost forgotten about it! Of course, I promptly sat down and looked through the whole thing for mistakes – if you submit it with something wrong, even if a page is backwards, they will print it. I’ve heard horror stories of people getting theirs with entire pages backwards! So glad that didn’t happen to me! Even though nobody will read it besides my parents and David, it’s still technically my first publication! So awesome.

I was on a real Asian/Middle Eastern kick with my menu plan last week (some highlights were beef with snowpeas & chickpea burgers), but the best of the bunch was this coconut red lentil soup from  101 Cookbooks.

It was really easy to put together, and even though it had a couple of ingredients that are not always stocked in the pantry – red split lentils and yellow split peas – a quick trip to the bulk foods aisle in Whole Foods easily took care of that. I only made minimal changes: took out the raisins (I just don’t care for raisins in savory foods) and added a carrot. Enjoy!

Coconut Red Lentil Soup
adapted from 101 Cookbooks

1 cup yellow split peas
1 cup red split lentils
7 cups water
2 medium carrots, 1/2” diced (next time I will actually add another)
2 tbsp. fresh ginger, peeled and minced (I always grate mine on the microplane – I am terrible at mincing!)
2 tbsp. curry powder
2 tbsp. butter
8 green onions, thinly sliced
1/3 cup tomato paste
1 14 oz. can coconut milk (I used light and don’t think it affected the flavor here at all)
1 tsp. salt
chopped cilantro for garnish

Thoroughly rinse the split peas and lentils until they no longer put off dingy water. Cover with the water in a large soup pot and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, add the carrot and 1/4 of the ginger. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes or so, or until the split peas are getting tender.

Meanwhile, in a small dry pan, toast the curry powder until it is fragrant. Use low heat and keep an eye on it – you don’t want it to burn or your house will smell like curry forever. Set aside.

Saute half of the green onions and the rest of the ginger in the butter in a saute pan until soft (if you wanted to use raisins, this it where you would add them). Add the tomato paste and saute for another minute or two. Add the curry powder and then add the whole mixture into the simmering lentils along with the coconut milk and salt. Continue to simmer, uncovered, for at least another 20 minutes. It will thicken up – if you don’t like thick soups you can add a little water to thin it out.

Serve garnished with the remaining green onions and the cilantro. Heidi recommends serving this over brown rice or farro, which I will be trying with the leftovers.

Happy dinner!

 

 

3 responses to “Coconut Red Lentil Soup + A Publication

  1. Looks yummy. Was the curry flavor very strong?

  2. Congrats on your thesis! Soup sounds yummy …I will have to get out of my box and try it!

  3. Congratulations on both the thesis and the soup. Both look spectacular! Happy New Year. xoxo

Leave a Reply

